European Circular Cities Declaration

Monday, 29 March, 2021

The European Circular Cities Declaration is designed to help accelerate the transition from a linear to a circular economy in Europe, and thereby create a resource-efficient, low-carbon and socially responsible society. 

It aims to:

  • Allow local and regional governments across Europe to communicate their commitment to supporting the circular transition 
  • Provide a shared vision of what a “circular city” is
  • Underline the critical role which local and regional governments need to play in making this transition happen
  • Establish a community of committed organisations to share their experiences, challenges and successes

The Declaration has been developed by a broad partnership of stakeholders to ensure that the vision and commitments contained are ambitious, yet achievable, and reflect the needs of all.

Founding signatories

  • Tirana (Albania)
  • GhentLeuven and Mechelen (Belgium)
  • Prague (Czechia)
  • CopenhagenHøje-Taastrup and Roskilde (Denmark)
  • HelsinkiLappeenranta, Oulu, Tampere and Turku (Finland)
  • Grenoble (France); Freiburg im Breisgau (Germany)
  • Budapest (Hungary)
  • Florence and Prato (Italy)
  • Wiltz (Luxembourg)
  • Guimarães (Portugal)
  • Bergen and Oslo (Norway)
  • Ljubljana and Maribor (Slovenia)
  • Seville (Spain)
  • EskilstunaMalmö and Umeå (Sweden)

Download the Declaration | Putting the Circular Economy into Action